So it begins!

So a couple months ago, my roommate (who is an exceptionally good cook) talked me into doing a half-share with the organic co-op share program at work. The program my company supports (Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA) is a fantastic organization that helps local organic farmers find resources and buyers for their produce. Cheap organic veggies for 25 weeks? It seemed like a great idea!

However, I forgot a few key factors:

1. I don’t cook anything besides a few Indian and pasta recipes.

2. I don’t eat green things (other than peas)

But now the first shipment came in – and I don’t actually recognize most of the vegetables I picked up this morning. In fact, even my roommate didn’t know what one of them was! O.o (Fun fact: Mizuna is not a Ukraine potato but rather a Japanese herb).

So.. I decided that as I will likely need help gathering recipes and/or identifying my weekly assortment of green things, I shall appeal to the benevolence of the internet.

Family, friends, strangers that are still reading this for some reason: please help! I’ll be posting the vegetables I get every weekend and picking them up on Monday morning. Recipe suggestions, applause and/or commiseration about my lack of cooking technique, and general encouragement will be greatly appreciated. 🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Niharika Bhatt on May 13, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    What vegetables do you have for this week?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sonali on May 13, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    “exceptionally good cook”.. awww 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Niharika on May 14, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    My workplace will have a farmer’s market every tuesday from the next week. I will be following your blog carefully and picking out vegetables you both have, so we can share notes 🙂 ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

