Week 2: Burrito Bowl

My roommate and I currently have a ridiculous amount of lettuce so last night we decided to team up and try to finish off a good chunk via a burrito bowl before we both go out of town for the long weekend.

This is only 1/3 of the lettuce we have to finish off

This is only 1/3 of the lettuce we have to finish off

 

Prep was pretty quick as usual – she got to try out our new knife on the green peppers (a green thing I’ve never eaten outside of a pizza before!)

Surprisingly tasty

Surprisingly tasty

I boiled some of the dried beans my mom got me about a year ago. These have been life savers because I can make just the right amount of refried beans without having to open up a whole can – and they store nicely in the pantry for basically forever. Seriously need to get more of these via the Indian food network: where people going home (be it India or Michigan) bring back things that their friends’ parents have sent along with them. This is usually limited to sweets and muruku but I suppose I can Americanize it a little bit 😛

Anyways, I basically boil the beans, cut up lettuce (and now green peppers) and then mix it in a bowl with some shredded cheese. Top it off with sour cream and salsa. Big fan of the one bowl meal here. It was fun making and eating dinner with the roomie yesterday – we usually have completely different schedules so I’ve gone 2-3 days at a time without seeing her sometimes. O.o Tonight I’m going to try to make kale pesto so stay tuned for that!

 

Leave a Reply

